Nintendo Customer Service Rules

If you follow this blog or the podcast, you may know that I had some, uh, issues with my Wii to Wii U transfer process.

Well, I spoke with Nintendo again earlier today, and it’s been worked out.

And then some.

Basically, Nintendo remotely deleted the licences for my Virtual Console and WiiWare purchases remotely from my Wii system, and credited my Wii shop on the Wii U with 57000 points ($570, the value of my Wii Virtual Console/Wiiware library). Then they gave me a bonus $50 to my Wii U account for “the inconvenience.”

Wii points balance

I now have the freedom and means to build the ultimate Virtual Console library on my Wii U.

I loved my Wii Virtual Console library and felt it was a very strong one, so 75% of what I buy will likely be the same. But I bought some duds along the 6+ year journey I spent cultivating the library, mistakes I certainly will not be repeating. There are also quite a few titles on the shop that I want, but never purchased, so all my “man, I kind of wish I would have bought X rather than Y” regrets are now moot. My Wii VC is getting a second chance, a clean slate.

So really, this turned out to be a blessing of sorts. It was a a bit of a pain, but this really was the best possible outcome for a seemingly hopeless and unprecedented scenario.

I’m incredibly satisfied with the way this turned out, but if I said this great customer service and very generous gesture by the company made me a lifelong customer and supporter, I’d be lying.

I was made a lifelong customer and supporter of Nintendo in 1988, when I first played The Legend of Zelda on the NES and it changed my life and made me fall completely in love with not just Nintendo, but the medium in general. Since then, Nintendo, like any creative/tech company has had its ups and downs, but they have always brought my life more joy and positivity than frustration in the decades since I first placed that gold cartridge into my NES.

In the end, this issue was resolved in a satisfactory way that, while there are some downsides (bye bye Last Story and Super Smash Bros. Brawl save data), the benefits of cherry-picking my Virtual Console library and basically getting a free Wii U game certainly outweigh the negatives.

Just add this to the list of reasons why I love Nintendo and will remain a loyal customer and supporter to the end.

-Ryan (@Brawndwarf on Twitter)

14 thoughts on “Nintendo Customer Service Rules

  1. Pingback: How “200101″ Became My Least Favorite Number This Holiday Season | Nintendo Fun Club Podcast

    • I haven’t received any coins for my first purchases yet- I’m really not expecting them nor feel that I deserve/are entitled to them. But, I wouldn’t say no to the coins if they show up in my account, haha.

      On the subject of Club Nintendo, just for the curious, they sent me codes to re-download all the games I had previously purchased using Club Nintendo coins, which is cool.

      It’s comforting to know that they keep records of all this stuff; makes me feel much better about my digital purchases on Nintendo platforms for sure.

  2. Pingback: Sega Arcade Games on the Wii Virtual Console | Blue Skies Daily

  3. Well crud. And here I was almost ready to make you an offer on my ambassador Wii /Eur/ (plat. level) with all those VC games.
    Glad to see it resolved somewhat (though you won’t be able to buy anything removed from the shop like DKC i guess).

    Now… Know anyone who’d want such a Wii? :P

  4. Pingback: On the Bright Side: Nintendo Customer Service Department is Still as Fantastic as Ever | GenGAME

  5. Pingback: Apps Lu » Wii to Wii U transfer error sees giant store credit windfall

  6. I have had a completely different experience than you. I attempted the Wii to Wii U System Transfer. In the process, all of my save data from over 40 games was completely lost. This after following all of the transfer steps explicitly, because the last thing I wanted to have happen was to lose all of that save data. After weeks and weeks of trying to figure this out on the phone and via e-mail, I was told by their customer service that the data was gone and there was literally nothing that I could do to get it back. When I asked if there was anything they could do to try and make this a little better for me, they said all they can offer is an extended warranty on my Wii U. Now, keep in mind that I currently own the following systems, and they all currently still work: NES, SNES, N64, Gamecube, Wii, GameBoy, GameBoy Pocket, GameBoy Color, GameBoy Advance, GameBoy Advance SP, DS, DS Lite, DSi, DSiXL, 3DS, Virtual Boy, and a Donkey Kong arcade unit (as you can tell, I am a huge Nintendo fan). An extended warranty wouldn’t be of much use to me is what I’m trying to say. However, I was willing to accept it if that was all they could offer. After seeing what you were given, I was fuming, to say the least. I felt deceived by a company that I had held in such high regard. So, congratulations to you. But, just know that it isn’t so great for everybody.

    P.S. You have a good blog.

    • Wow, that really sucks :-/ It’s definitely a flawed and not-ideal process; even while transferring from my 3DS to my new XL (which actually worked flawlessly), I was nervous the whole time.

      Losing save data hurts, in some cases, time > money. Losing my Super Smash Bros. Brawl data in this situation was especially brutal, because I had put 50+ hours (I think) into it and unlocked nearly everything.

      I’ve started to make a point to backup my saves on everything every so often whether it be on my PC with my 3DS, an SD card with the Wii, or the cloud with the PS3- but that doesn’t really matter when game data can’t be backed up (as is the case with Brawl, Goldeneye, Mario Kart Wii, and Last Story).

      I consider myself fortunate to receive the (eventually) excellent treatment that I did. I hope that my case is an example of the approach Nintendo will take to these types of situations in the future.

      Sorry to hear about your bummer of a situation, but thanks a ton for sharing!

Leave a Reply

